February Update

I will try to update this blog at least once a month for now. I am so crazy tired and busy all the time, it’s all I can manage. And I have tons of pictures of the munchkins, but they’re who knows where – on one of our cameras, some on my computer, some in private folders on SmugMug. I haven’t had time to post any of them, but will soon. I’ll try to make this a “quick” update.

Shea is 2 and two months now. He’s doing great. Talking, running, playing. Today he corrected me. I said that the gift on the table was for the “Bebe Woo Woo” party – he knows the kids in his French playgroup as the Bebe Oui-Oui’s and not by their individual names – but I, by mistake, called it “Bebe Woo Woo” instead of “Bebe Oui-Oui.” Bebe Woo Woo his his favorite dog – the bebe to distinguish him from Grand Woo Woo and Petit Woo Woo (he was calling dogs “woo woo”s when he got them.) And Shea said, “No, BeBe Oui-Oui!” A glimpse into the teen years. Can’t wait.

Shea is really into Thomas the Train these days, although we have just one book and one DVD. He knows the names of all the trains (and so do I), but no, we’re not buying one of those multi-hundred-dollar train sets! He still loves sports of every kind and is really obsessed with letters. (He knows them all by their sounds, thanks to The Letter Factory). As we’re driving down the street, he says, “Oh! Letters!” and points to a street sign. Then “Oh! More letters!” and points to another – all the way down the street. He’s also really into Playdoh (which he calls, “Potatoes”) and finger painting.

Oona just started eating solids, so I spent this morning (ugh, at 7 a.m.) pureeing apples and pears. Tonight sweet potatoes, yams, carrots, and potatoes, so I can freeze them all and be stocked up for a couple of weeks. She is getting big. She smiles a ton and coos and sucks on everything in sight. She was sleeping all night, but now tends to get up once (sometimes twice) a night. Hopefully the solids will solve that.

I have been running a lot. I’m training for a half marathon at the end of March, so I’ve been running 18-20 miles per week (ran 8 miles today – 10 miles last Saturday). It gives me energy for a few hours and then I just crash out in the evenings when I have free time to get stuff done. Definitely cuts into my writing time.

I’m still blogging a lot at Writerland.com, although putting less time and effort into it than I was. I now have a book to revise, the half marathon coming up, and I’m taking care of the kids on Fridays. We cut our nanny down from 2.5 to 2 days per week so we don’t end up in the poorhouse. So unfair that my sisters had my mom around to babysit for free! Although that would have meant staying in Michigan, so that probably wouldn’t have happened anyway. Childcare is crazy expensive, and if we do go the public school route, it will save us a ton of money. It took me becoming a parent to realize that school is free daycare for parents. Parents LOVE school! All those snow days we loved so much as a kid? And the vacations? No so fun for the parents!

I think I had a midlife crisis for about two weeks. I was really cranky and stressed out, and I can’t help wondering if the impending BIRTHDAY had something to do with it, but I’m all zen about it now. 40 is the new 39 from what I’ve heard.

See you in March!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

