Rejections suck

I got another rejection from agent today. The hardest part (for me) about getting rejections is wondering whether a) That person just wasn’t the right agent and I need to keep querying until I find the right one, even if it takes 50-100 rejections to get there, or b) It still needs more work, and I should revise it again before sending it back out.

I feel like no matter how much I work on it and how many people I show it to, I will always hear that x, y and z need work. And yet there are a gazillion stories about best sellers getting rejected over and over and over before being published, so how do you know when it’s done? How do you know when to stop revising and put your energy into selling it? I read published works all the time that I would have given plenty of critiques if someone had asked me to edit them.

I think waiting another month to hear from two or three more agents, then rereading it myself (after having had some time away from it), may give me a clearer picture of what I need to do. I feel like I can be my own best judge if I have a little distance. And yet … I would feel so much better if an agent or professional editor signed off on it for me, said, “Yes! It’s ready! Send it out!”

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “Rejections suck

  1. It’s the agent, not you. You know this. You’re not any different from those oft-rejected eventual bestsellers.

    I know that even though you know this, it is really, really hard.

  2. I don’t know this! It may need more revising. You haven’t read the whole thing 🙂

  3. Keep going–you never know if that acceptance is right around the bend. Let me know if you’d like me to read.

  4. i have no experience with this – but I wd say that like a job you have to find the right fit – i have no doubt that your writing and story are better than a lot of stuff that gets published.. I think it is just a matter of finding the right agent – so many artists/ models/actors have a history of getting rejected – till someone finally spots them for the right gallery/designer/role..

    So I wd say contact more agents before you work too much on it again.

Leave a Reply

