Quick Update

I started a blog post last week and still haven’t finished it. Maybe I’ll post it as is for now. I have no time to blog! Quick update:

Writing, writing, writing. Nearly done with this draft and have found an editor to read through it before I make more revisions. I’ve been reading the interviews with agents in Poets & Writers magazine, and they all emphasize that you should work on your book forever before sending it out. When you think it’s done, spend another year on it, two of them said. So I’m happy that I’m taking the time to (hopefully) get it right.

Went to the beach with Shea yesterday. The waves scared him, so he stayed away from the shore, but he had a lot of fun playing in the sand with his sand toys and destroying the sand castles that Martin and I made. Going to be in the 80s again today, and I’ll be stuck inside working while Martin and Shea are out playing.

Busy week last week—extra tutoring, lots of editing, a friend’s reading in San Francisco, writer’s group, Lost finale, etc. etc. Mother’s Day I swam a mile, then we went out to dinner with Martin’s family and to a friend’s for his birthday. I was so worn out that I haven’t been swimming since. I’m more in the mood to revise my book right now than exercise anyway.

Bought baby furniture yesterday. Will pick it up next weekend and store it for now because I want to focus on writing for a few more weeks before we start converting the office to a baby room. We’re both sad about losing our office (or at least moving it to the basement), but I think it will be better than putting them in the same room. We need to renovate the garage and/or basement at some point and convert one to an office, but we just can’t do it right now.

Friday night Martin, Shea and I had a dance party. Really cute to watch Shea dance. He is getting more fun and saying more words every day. One of his new things is to stick his hands out and tense his whole body, baring his teeth, and then we mimic him and he laughs and does it again. We have two video cameras now, so we’ve been taking videos but haven’t uploaded any yet. I need to get a video of Shea doing his frozen baby thing.

That’s all for now.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Writing

One response to “Quick Update

  1. Sorry we cdn’t baby sit him- as we had plans already – but do give us a bit of an advance notice and we wd love to baby sit him again

    Take your time with the book – i am sure – that being a perfectionist- it will be very ready when you send it out.. I am looking forward to owning a copy when it comes out – which I am sure it will.

Leave a Reply

