Berkeley Honeymoon

shea-feb-2009

I just reread my Feb. 13 post and thought I’d better write a follow-up since that was so depressing. Things are MUCH better now that I’m in my second trimester. No nausea. No bad moods. Still eating a lot, but started running four days a week and feel much better. I’ve probably gained 11 lbs by now and just wore a pair of maternity pants for the first time yesterday, but feel much less huge than I did a few weeks ago.

Have gotten motivated to write again and did 12 hours last week and another six hours Saturday. (Although I’m still doing scene analyses and structural work, so not really “writing”). LOVE my friend B who read my book last week and raved about how much she liked it. Really motivated me to get it done. I need that kind of feedback more often and less from writers who pick apart every sentence until I’m ready to throw the whole thing into a fire.

Am now 15 weeks and will find out the gender in a week and a half. Martin’s pulling for a girl. I’m fine either way. If I had to take a wild guess, I’d say it’s a girl (last time I guessed boy, and I was right), but that’s based on a lot of old wives’ tales–more nausea, headaches, faster heartbeat, etc. Except for falling asleep at 9 p.m. every night, I don’t feel pregnant. That’s the joy of the honeymoon trimester! First trimester you’re reminded every minute that you’re pregnant. Second trimester you forget all about it and get on with your life.

We’ve had a few headaches with the rental house, and I spent all day yesterday filling out small claims forms and compiling documentation to go to court. We mostly just want a refund for our hot tub and reimbursement for all the repairs we’ve had to pay for. We finally broke down and bought a new hot tub last week. What a fiasco the old one was with all the leaks and all the phone calls from the management company. But now it’s taken care of and hopefully we’ll recup most of our money.

Have been playing games again – mostly Settlers – although we keep making plans to play at 7 and by then we’re so exhausted by then we just want to go to bed instead. Last night (it’s now 2 a.m.) Martin and I collapsed just half hour after we put Shea in bed – at 8 p.m. Martin had taken care of Shea all weekend so I could get work done (and he’d cooked dinner both nights – carrot ginger soup Sat and corn and bread pudding with salmon Sun), and I had worked all day both days without a break. I’m taking fewer (if any) naps during the day now, but just want to collapse right after dinner. To watch BSG on Fridays, which is at 10 p.m., I have to sleep from 8-10 and then get back up to watch it.

With the hard economic times, we’ve had to make some cuts. We stayed up late Sat night making spreadsheets and drawing up a budget. We’re going to pull Shea out of music and swimming classes for a while, which is fine. He’ll have to stop for a couple of months anyway when the baby is born. Music Together has sessions every three months, and we don’t need to attend EVERY session. Shea is at an age where he spends the whole class wandering around the room talking to other parents and kids rather than paying attention to the songs anyway. Since he learned to walk, that’s ALL he wants to do. His favorite thing in life is to just go outside and walk down the sidewalk to the park. He stops all along the way to watch ants crawl on the sidewalk, to point out every dog and cat, to pick at leaves and dirt, etc. As for swimming, we’ll go back to the classes at the Berkeley High Warm Pool for now, where they don’t teach them how to swim or go under water, but I’ve been doing that long enough with Shea that I can just continue it by myself over there. And maybe a few months from now we’ll start him up again when he’s ready to do some real swimming. Our nanny expenses are going to double in September and until I sell my book or the economy gets better, things will be tight for a while.

In other news, I’m nearing the end of The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle and just love love love that book. Not sure what I’ll read next, but am thinking about Moby Dick or another classic (there are SO many I haven’t read). Am still watching BSG (two episodes left!) and Lost, but gave up Heroes so I could have more time to write/work/sleep in the evenings. LOVE both shows, but thought BSG was boring this past week.

That’s about it for the updates! And I plan to send my New Year’s cards out sometime before the end of this year!

3 Comments

Filed under Motherhood

3 responses to “Berkeley Honeymoon

  1. Ah the cuts! Yes, I’m familiar with those. 🙂 But I ‘m glad you are counting your blessings and happy with Shea and family! I also LOVE that you LOVE THE WIND UP BIRD CHRONICLE!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Hee.

  2. I’m on about page 500 and can’t wait to get back on BART to read more. I wanted to ask which HM book I should read next – Kafka on the Shore? But I need to read a classic first …

  3. Hey – glad to hear that things are on the upswing and congratulations on the hardwork on the book!

Leave a Reply

