Mardi Gras

img_8999

Shea in PJs wondering what the heck is going on

I love my street. I’ve recently become friends with our neighbors who have a newborn baby and who have lived here for just about a year and we are planning to organize the first block party in many years. I’ve wanted to do this on my own, but didn’t have the time/energy, but now that I have someone to plan it with, I’m motivated.

Then a few days ago, our neighbor down the street circulated a flier that she was organizing a Mardi Gras celebration for our street. She hired a banjo player and a trumpetist, bought buckets of beads, flashing light toys and noisemakers and had people meet in front of her house at 7 p.m. Everyone wore funny hats and put on their beads and then we paraded up and down the sidewalks. It was just an hour-long ordeal, but I got the chance to meet many of our neighbors, got the skinny on past block parties, heard one woman commit to distributing a map and phone list to everyone on the street so we can check on each other in case of an earthquake and met a couple potential babysitters. It’s so strange to me that I’ve lived her for 4.5 years and only know a handful of my neighbors. Some of them have been here for 40+ years. Anyway, now I know people in about 14 houses, which is about half of our street, and I’m looking forward to meeting the rest at the block party.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mardi Gras

Leave a Reply

