End of year wrap-up

442776691_img_7720

It’s been a busy year. I wrote the third draft of my book (in present tense), did a ton of things with Shea (see previous post), read 17 books (seven short of my goal), wrote a few reviews for the SF Chronicle, tutored some, lost 52 lbs (including the baby), did a couple public readings, won the Field Report travel writing prize, and voted for Clinton and then Obama. I didn’t completely finish my book, now my goal for the end of February, or send it out to agents, also my goal for the end of February. I did make a lot of progress on it, though, and spent a tremendous amount of time doing family stuff, from keeping the house clean and organized to doing outings with Shea. I feel like I said most of what I wanted to say about this past year in my post about Shea’s birthday, so I’ll keep this one short. Overall, it was a great year with a lot of fun game nights and weekends at Sweet Dreams and holidays celebrations, and I’m looking forward to a repeat in 2009. My reading list for the year (and this time I’m not including the baby books I read like “Baby Wise,” and “The Fourth Trimester,” is below with my favorites starred. I wish I had time to read more!

2008
1. The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood
2. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz*
3. Divisadero by Michael Ondaatje
4. The Secret by Rhonda Byrne
5. Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
6. King of Shadows by Aaron Shurin
7. Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse (2nd read)*
8. The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid
9. Stumbling on Happiness by Daniel Gilbert
10. The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti *
11. Animal Crackers by Hannah Tinti*
12. A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah*
13. The American by Henry James
14. Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri*
15. The Nakesake by Jhumpa Lahiri*
16. The Slippery Year by Melanie Gideon* (will be out in Sept. 2009)
17. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

1 Comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

One response to “End of year wrap-up

  1. what an adorable picture! Go Shea!

Leave a Reply

