Other updates

347451187_img_4890

In other news, we’re at the river this weekend and fortunately Martin’s watching Shea because i came down with a stomach flu last night—chills, nausea, stomach cramps, etc. I had to go in the hot tub to warm up because I was sitting here with the heat up to 70 and shivering. Feeling the nausea did NOT make me want to get pregnant again. The first time I was tolerant because of the novelty of having a first baby, but I think it will be harder having to take care of Shea while feeling so awful. Anyway, yes, thinking about getting on that after Shea turns one in a month. I wanted to get my book published before having a kid. Now I want to get my book published before having a SECOND kid.

I finished my revisions yesterday, by the way, and printed it out (417 pp) again. I don’t think it’s done. I need to read through it and make more changes before handing it off to readers next Friday, but I think it’s get closer. I just printed it out and read it a month ago, so I’m not dying to read it again, but that’s what I’ve got to do. It’s so hard when you’re so close to a work to see it objectively. I wish I could take another three-month break (like when Shea was born) before re-reading it, but I don’t have that much time. I want to get it to agents by the end of January.

I read Jhumpa Lahiri’s Unaccostumed Earth and loved it so much I’m breaking my rule to read one contemporary book followed by one classic to read her other two books. I’m reading The Nakesake now and will read Interpreter of Maladies next. I bought them both used at Pegasus yesterday. Buying used books there is a way I can support an independent bookstore without breaking my bank because hardcovers are about $9 cheaper on Amazon and at B&N with the member discount.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

