Will blog more

I’m going to try to write shorter, more frequent, blog posts and not worry about whether I have a photo to go with it. It took me two weeks to post that last post because I hadn’t had time to go through my photos.

Having the nanny come a couple of mornings a week has been wonderful. I made it to the gym twice this week, went running once, and even turned in a chapter (previously written) to my writers’ group. Some days Shea is really good and hardly cries, other days (like last night), he cries for hours, no matter what I do to feed and entertain him. Today he’s been sleeping a lot. I think he’s worn out from all his fussing last night. Babies are eventually supposed to learn to self-soothe. Well, I was the one doing the self-soothing last night. I drank a glass of wine and, when he kept howling, I shoveled a Skinny Cow (low-fat ice-cream sandwich) in my mouth. I’ve had a lot of headaches lately, and I think they’re from lack of sleep on some nights (last night I handed him off to Martin and slept through the night) and from his bouts of crying. The breast feeding is going better. It still hurts when he latches on, but I’m able to feed him 100% without the shield now. I think it just took time for my skin to toughen up.

Now that I have a little free time, I have all these “goals,” and I have to be careful not to let them stress me out. Today my main goal is to be with Shea since I feel guilty for sticking him in the swing and letting him cry last night (I just couldn’t take him anymore!). And today he’s being good. It’s like he can sense when I am trying to get other things done and screams for more attention.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Will blog more

  1. Shea and I have something in common! The thalamus is key to learning to self-soothe. It’s not fully developed in babies and so they can’t self-soothe. In awhile, his thalamus will develop and then his ability to tell himself “Mommy’s coming, I’m not alone,” or other similar thoughts.

    Hang in there–thank goodness for the nanny! I don’t know how women can care for children 24/7 without nanny/family relief.

  2. I can’t wait until his thalamus is more developed! And I agree about the nanny – don’t know how people do it.

Leave a Reply

