It’s So You

its-so-you.jpg

I’m a terrible self-promoter. I think this book has been out for a couple of months already. Anyway, I’m one of the 35 women writing about fashion in this anthology, so go to Amazon
and buy a copy, or click on the Seal Press website
to read more about it. My essay is a chapter from my book about being backstage at the Kenzo show in Paris. It’s the story I was frantically editing for submission when my BART train crashed in the tunnel and there was smoke and people were crying. I kept editing and got the submission in, and it was accepted, and now here it is in a book. My first official non-MFA creative writing publication.  Unfortunately, I won’t be able to make any of the Bay Area readings because they’re in mid-December.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “It’s So You

  1. What? Because you’ll have a baby? Don’t let that stop you! I took my 3 day old daughter to her first reading at Black Oak Books. She slept through the whole thing, and it was great.

  2. You’re hardcore, Susan! If there were a reading in Berkeley, I would try to attend, but the only reading I know of is in SF on Dec. 12 – just a week after he’s due. He’s not supposed to be around people during peak cold season and I’m sure I’ll be exhausted, so I am going to pass. But I’m very impressed that you read three days after your daughter was born!!

  3. Bustopher: yeah, I was hardcore, but that was 2nd child and she just had to hit the ground running, so to speak. I think I was fairly shell-shocked by #1 and didn’t leave the house for at least a couple weeks.

    PS. I wasn’t reading, I went to hear Annie Proulx read.

Leave a Reply

