“Me” Day

Yesterday I had a “me” day, and it was heavenly. I slept in, then lay in bed as long as I wanted (which was until my stomach grumbled enough to make me get up and get breakfast). I lay there for at least half an hour with my eyes open thinking about my day, then let my mind drift into a meditational state, in which I did nothing more than count my breaths. (I miss doing meditation.) My goal for the day was not to have any goals and not to do anything I didn’t feel like doing.

I got up, ate breakfast, dropped the car off at the shop, which is conveniently next door to my gym, then went to the gym (this was not on my “to do” list. It was just something I really felt like doing.) I spent 45 minutes on the elliptical machine, did weight machines (which I find boring, but I do them because I can’t climb) and kegels between sets. Next I did a lot of stretching, and this is when I discovered how many astanga yoga poses I CAN’T do anymore. I am really surprised when I hear that some pregnant women do astanga all the way through their pregnancy. I don’t know if it’s from the surgery or the pregnancy, but I couldn’t even do an upward dog (downward dog was fine, though.) I couldn’t do forward bends or back bends or a lot of other poses. So eventually I gave up and went home.

I ate a snack, took a long bath, had lunch, read, slept for 15 minutes or so, then went back to pick up the car and go to a prenatal yoga class. It was my first one, and it was really nice. From a non-pregnant person’s POV, it’s incredibly easy, but for me it was really nice to only do poses that I should be doing (no forward bends, for example) in a relaxed setting where half the class leaves the room at some point to go pee. I felt like I was with my people in there! There were probably only two women less pregnant than I was, but I think now 23 weeks) is a good time to start.
It’s not much of a workout, but it my crazy life, I need calm more than I need a workout.

My favorite things to do on “me” days (which are usually just half days and don’t happen very often):

Lavender baths
Tea/lunch with a friend
Go to a spa and sit in a hot tub
Get a massage
Read a book
Go for a walk
Hike through the woods
Lie on the beach/swim
Watch a movie
Sleep
Stare/do nothing

What do you do on your “me” days?

1 Comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

One response to ““Me” Day

  1. Well for lazy, unemployed me – everyday is a “me” day – lie in bed – read read read – nap – read read read – cook,clean – read read read – zzzzzzzzzz

Leave a Reply

