Be Careful What You Wish For

patagonia_22.jpg

This has been one HECTIC week. Some people have asked me why I haven’t been blogging much lately. One of the reasons is that I took a time management workshop and realized that if I wanted to be more productive and get more writing done, I would have to cut down on some of the unnecessary things in my life, including blogging.

The other reason is this little guy, whom we are expecting around Dec. 2. S(he) is what has been on my mind lately, as well as the nausea and fatigue that comes with pregnancy. Eating constantly is what has helped me fend off the nausea, which has caused me to gain more weight than I should by this time (nine weeks). I was a bit depressed about it Thursday night and wishing I could lose a couple of pounds, but it isn’t safe to lose weight while you’re pregnant.

The next morning, Friday morning, I had a lot of abdominal pain and starting vomiting, but just attributed it to bad morning sickness. It got worse throughout the day, though, and I eventually went to the doctor, who sent me to the ER for an ultrasound. It turned out I had appendicitis. I was in an ER room until 3 a.m. when they finally admitted me to the hospital. Yesterday, Saturday, I had my appendix out. Fortunately, the surgery didn’t affect the baby and a follow-up ultrasound confirmed that (s)he is fine. Today I was released and am now holed up on the couch watching movies. I’m okay as long as I’m lying down, but getting up and walking around is pretty painful. So far I’ve survived without pain killer, but the Vicodin they prescribed me is sounding more and more appealing. I have lost at least a couple of pounds, not the way I would have liked. Like I said, be careful what you wish for!

And now that the cat is out of the bag, I’ll be blogging more about the joys and trials of pregnancy.

5 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy

5 responses to “Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. Best of luck with the pregnancy.

  2. ooooOOOOOH! Congratulations. 🙂 I mean, on the pregnancy, not the appendicitis.

    On the appendectomy front: I hope you feel better soon.

  3. WOW bustopher, that is big big big news! So much to go through in such a short period. I wish you the best.

  4. Thank you Jade and Susan!

  5. mel

    Omg, congratulations! Wonderful, wonderful news.

Leave a Reply

