Creatures of Habit

Last night when I entered my yoga class and unrolled my mat in the middle of the room against the far wall, the guy next to me said, “We’re such creatures of habit. We always take the same places,” and I thought, “And how!” When I was TAing two years ago, I thought it was funny that our students always sat in the same chairs they sat in on the first day of class, even though no one ever told them they had to. Maybe we got accustomed to that in grade school when our teachers made us write our names on a seating chart the first day of class and sit in those seats for the rest of the year. But our habits (my habits) aren’t limited to seating. There are other things I do – HAVE to do – every day – like drink a giant cup of rooibos every morning with honey and soy milk, balance my checkbook in Quicken, sleep on the right side of the bed, and change into my favorite fleece pants the minute I get home at night. And when I go camping, I cook pasta with sautéed mushrooms, zucchini and sundried tomato fontina cheese chicken sausage for dinner the first night and Tasty Bites the second night. I eat oatmeal with apples and bananas for breakfast and turkey sandwiches on bagels for lunch-EVERY time I go camping. The list goes on, but I know from TAing and yoga class that I’m not the only one. What are some of YOUR habits?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

