Deerhoof, Radiohead


Deerhoof opened for Radiohead last night. Yes, I got Radiohead tickets! I had two alarms set to get up at 9:30 a.m. the morning tickets went on sale and after I save my credit card information on the Ticketmaster website, at 9:55 I started clicking to buy tix and I clicked and clicked until it hit 10 a.m. and then finally at about 10 and 30 seconds they went on sale (that 30 seconds was agonizing) and I got them. The only disappointment was that I didn’t know ahead of time that I’d only be able to buy two tickets (it didn’t even say how much the tix would cost ahead of time), so friends I planned to get them for ended up not going 😦 Anyway, Deerhoof was good. I really like the lead singer and guitarist, Satomi Matsuzaki, although some of their songs are a bit loud for me. Radiohead was great. I have to say I was a little disappointed that they didn’t play my favorite song, Creep, but then again it would have been a little too cliché if they had. They played some new songs that were really good and they played a lot of old stuff from Kid A and OK Computer, like “The National Anthem” and “Idioteque.” We were too lazy to go down to the floor; we sat up in the bleachers with our bag of Andronico’s food so we could eat and drink to our hearts’ contents. I like sitting, but it’s also a lot more exciting to be up front where you can see their faces and not just little figures on the stage. Speaking of the stage, their stage show was phenomenal. They had ten jagged screens onto which were projected black and white videos of them playing live from different angles. Behind the screens was a colored background (the last couple of songs were different, which is what you see in the photo). Pretty cool to see close-up videos of the guitarist’s hand, Thom York’s face, etc.

Since I never blogged about this earlier, we also went to see Belle & Sebastian, the Strokes and Brazilian Girls in the past few months and here is the report:

Belle & Sebastian – wonderful. I LOVE them and that was the one concert at which we got up close enough to see their faces. Stevie Jackson is a character and I love how sweet and sincere the lead singer (Chris?) is. And I love that they had a female in their band who looked like a suburban housewife – not thin, not hip, not sexy at all – just a normal looking woman in a B&S hoodie. Very cool. I do love their old stuff more than their new stuff, but I’ve heard enough of their new stuff on XMU that’s it’s begun to grow on me.

The Strokes – One thing interesting about concerts is the crowd that goes to see them. At B&S you had the hip indie crowd of all ages. At The Strokes I think I was the oldest person there. Everyone was about 14 and dancing (and elbowing me) like crazy. Even though the crowd was super young and annoying, it felt much more like a real rock concert becasue they all screamed and jumped up and down when Julian Casablancas came out. I felt like I was at a Rolling Stones or Beatles concert. We were on the floor at the SF Design Center but not as close as at B&S so we got the worst of both worlds – being jostled about but not getting a close-up view. They’re still fantastic in concert, though.

Brazilian Girls – I was introduced to Brazilian Girls by Ani, but hadn’t listened to their album before I went to the concert. They reminded me of Pink Martini, singing in different languages. I wasn’t crazy AT ALL about the lead singer’s mask – she wore this piece of white organza over her face, lifting it up so it uncovered her mouth later on, but never taking it completely off. It was really annoying not to be able to see her face. Anyway, they have great dance music and I danced for the first time in a long time. Definitely a fun concert.

In August we’re going to see Death Cab for Cutie, whom I saw last fall, but this time will be at the Greek (like Radiohead), which will be much better than the Warfield. We decided to pass on the Flaming Lips and the Raconteurs. Just too much going on this summer. I do like the Raconteurs (Jack White’s new band) though, and I’m amazed at how mainstream the Flaming Lips have become.

Well, since I so rarely blog about music (I’m not into music or being up on the latest greatest NEARLY as much as Martin or some of my friends), here is a list of what I’ve been listening to in the past year or so – some of it new, much of it older:

Sigur Ros
Air
The Strokes
Death Cab for Cutie
Modest Mouse
The Raconteurs
Ambulance
The Avalanches
Sia
Zero Seven
Radiohead
Belle & Sebastian
The White Stripes
The Notwist
Yo La Tengo
The Decembrists
The Shins
Nico
Le Tigre
Ladytron
Pizzicato Five
Badly Drawn Boy
Sufjan Stevens

There are also tons of great bands I hear on XMU but there are so many that I can’t keep track. Some I remember are: Acid House Kings, Milosh, Nada Surf, Sun Kil Moon, The Go! Team, Mobius Band, and the list goes on.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Deerhoof, Radiohead

  1. !!! This concert simply ROCKED !!! Other good XM bands: Aqueduct, uh.. It is hard to remeber them!

Leave a Reply

