Ah, childhood

On my way back from a florist in St. Helena, near Calistoga, yesterday morning, I stopped at Starbucks to drink some tea and eat a fruit and cheese danish. When I saw the New York Times sitting there, I missed those days when I had time to sit down and read a real newspaper, instead of just headlines online. So I bought the Times and plopped myself in an armchair next to a window. Next to me sat two kids – one about 15 and one about 10. “I can get a good one for about 200 bucks,” the 10-year-old said. “But you have to know the right people. My dad bought this really nice watch and necklace for my mom and guess how much he paid? 246. They know these people …”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

