Grrr

A friend of mine visited my dad a couple of days ago and told me today that he said, “Meghan has been working on that book for seven years!” GRRRRR! GRRRRR! GRRRRRR! I want to say worse things, but he IS my dad, and he DID just send me some money for our wedding. First of all, I have been working on it for three years, not seven, and I spent two years before that working on a different book that I decided to abandon for the time being (a book of interviews with other models; one agent liked my intros to the interviews the best, and suggested I write my own book instead.) Second of all, I have been in school full time for 2+ years during which time I have been so busy taking literature classes, taking teaching classes and TA-ing (and now taking Book Binding), that I haven’t had all that much time to write. Third of all, I have been working full time for the past five years-three years working 12-15-hour days (with commute) at a newspaper, and the other two while I’ve been in school. Fourth of all, until you’ve written or attempted to write a book, I don’t want to hear a word out of you about how long it takes to write a book! I know several people who took years-up to 10 years-to write their books. GRRRR! GRRRR! GRRRR!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Grrr

  1. Well, I am beyond ten. Way beyond. So there! Seven years (or three) is like… a nanosecond, in book years.

Leave a Reply

