Bridezilla Part I

I’m already turning into Bridezilla. The past two Saturdays, Martin and I slept in, had a leisurely brunch, then headed up to Sonoma to look at wedding venues in the afternoon. We visited beautiful place after beautiful place, fantasized about the ideal wedding, had fabulous dinners, then drove leisurely back home. Now I’m totally stressed, and stess and I don’t mix well. Everything is booked for August, and everything costs a fortune. School is starting, and we still haven’t found a venue. And reality is setting in, too. Do we really want to spent $20,000 – $30,000 on a wedding? We could do a lot of things with that money, like … buy all new furniture (which we need), fix up the yard, get a new deck (one with access to the yard!), get a new heating system, redo the basement, or ALL of the above. Or we could have a fancy wedding. Hmmm. I think my new goal is the budget wedding. No $6000 venue. No $60/plate dinner. No $25 bottles of wine. No $3000 wedding dress. No flowers. No favors. No cake … okay, I’m going overboard, but do we really have to spend that much money? One of my brothers did his entire wedding for $6000, and it was one of the best weddings attended. Softball, volleyball, horseshoes, karaoke – all outdoors. How can you beat that? My only stipulation is that I’m not setting up chairs, bartending, or doing anything else at my own wedding besides eating, drinking and dancing. Speaking of dancing – iPod DJ? Why not? And if anyone else has any ideas for venues (beautiful, outdoors, less than $2500, and that lets you play music later than 10 p.m.), or other budget wedding ideas, please let me know!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Bridezilla Part I

  1. yay! Bridezilla! It’s a rite of passage. 🙂

  2. You could rent the Mills Alumnae House for free or a minimal fee, i think. It has a garden/nice backyard space as well as kitchen facilities. And the Mills Chapel is nice too, they rent it at a discount for alums (which you will be, eventually).

    I don’t know how big your wedding is, but there’s also a place called Hiller Highlands Country Club in Oakland. My friend had her wedding there and it was only $900 (that was in 2000).

    You could hire a full-service caterer who could do all the rentals, chairs, etc. Btw, re: my friend, I actually helped her coordinate her wedding, so I agree with you – get people to move chairs etc.! Don’t be the bride with a clipboard…you should be able to enjoy it w/out worrying over details!

  3. Thanks, Melanie, for all your suggestions! I never thought of Mills! I think we’re aiming for wine country, but I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

